Facebook Twitter YouTube Newsletter Signup

Press Releases

Dr. Brian Willis, President of Louisiana Neurosurgical Society Hosts Annual Meeting
Shreveport Residents Win Awards
Published Wednesday, January 25, 2012 7:00 pm

 The Louisiana Neurosurgical Society hosted the 37th Annual Meeting in Shreveport, Louisiana at the Shreveport Convention Center. Dr. Brian Willis, Professor and Neurosurgeon at LSUHSC – Shreveport, serves as the President of the Louisiana Neurosurgical Society. The meeting participants included approximately 40 neurosurgeons from Louisiana. Dr. Brian Willis and Dr. Bharat Guthikonda, LANS Scientific Moderator, hosted a two-day conference in which several Neurosurgery faculty and residents from LSUHSC - Shreveport, LSUHSC - New Orleans, and Tulane-Ochsner attended the Neuroendoscopy Course and the Scientific Meeting.


 Two sixth year residents of the Department of Neurosurgery received research awards. Benjamin Brown, MD, won the 2012 John Jackson Resident Award for his presentation, “CT Angiography: Reliable Tool for Predicting Anterior Communicating Artery Aneurysm Inflow Dominance.” This honor is awarded to the best clinical research article submitted for presentation at the conference. Rishi Wadhwa, MD, won the 2012 Dr. Dean Echols Award for best laboratory and research for his presentation, “Revision of Suboptimally Placed Lumbar Pedicle Screws Decreased Pullout Strength and Alters Biomedical Stability: A Pilot Cadaveric Study.”


 Featured Speakers included Dr. Alex Valadka and Dr. Douglas Brockmeyer. Dr. Valadka is a practicing Neurosurgeon, as well as CEO of the Seton Brain and Spine Institute in Austin, Texas. His presentations were titled, “Current Management of Traumatic Brain Injury,” and “Washington Committee Update.” Dr. Brockmeyer is a Professor of Neurosurgery, Residency Program Director, and Marion L. Walker Endowed Chair of Neurosurgery at the Primary Children’s Medical Center at the University of Utah Medical Center. His presentations were titled, “Current Concepts in Pediatric Neurosurgery,” and “Climbing Mount Everest.”


 Other presentations were made by faculty and staff of the Department of Neurosurgery from LSUHSC- Shreveport, including Dr. Anthony Sin, Dr. Prashant Chittiboina, Dr. David Connor, Dr. Cedric Shorter, and Dr. Osama Ahmed.


 Dr. David Cavanaugh of the Spine Institute of Louisiana honored members that have passed away in the last year. Dr. George Derry Beach and Dr. Fraser Edmund Landreneau were among those mentioned.


 Dr. Brian Willis will host the next Louisiana Neurosurgical Society Annual Meeting, held on January 11-12, 2013, in New Orleans.


 For more information regarding the Louisiana Neurosurgical Society or the Department of Neurosurgery at LSUHSC, please contact Lindsey Hudson at 318.675.5392.


Send this page to a friend